Institutional Ethics Committee

Tagore Medical College and hospital Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) was constituted for discussion and approval of institutional/ collaborative research projects with a view to safeguard the dignity, rights, safety and well being of all research participants and to ensure that the research is carried under prescribed guidelines.

Institutional Ethics Committee operates as per the ICMR guidelines and has been registered (Ethics Committee Registration No.ECR/634/Inst/TN2014 issued under Rule 122DD of the drugs & cosmetics Rule 1945).

Responsibilities of IEC

  • To ensure the competent review and evaluation of all ethical aspects of research projects received in an objective manner.
  • To protect the safety, rights and well being of the potential research participants.
  • To conduct scientific evaluation and ensure technical appropriateness of the proposed study.
  • To ensure that universal ethical values and international scientific standards are expressed in terms of local community values and customs.
  • To assist in the development and the education of a research community responsive to local health care requirements.
  • Creation, developing, revising and implementing ethical guidelines (SOPs)

DCGI approval number - ECR/1122/Tagore/Inst/TN/2014/RR20

NABH accreditation number - EC-CT-2021-0174

List of Institutional Ethics Committee Members

Name of member Designation in EC
Dr. S. Seethalakshmi Chairperson
Dr. R. Geetha Member Secretary
Dr. Jaishree Vasudevan Clinician
Dr. TKV Sharavanan Clinician
Dr. A. Balaji Clinician
Dr. E. Premalatha Medical Scientist
Dr. I. Kannan Scientific Member
Dr. M. G. Rajanandh Scientific Member
Mr. K. Sethuraman Lay Person
Mr. J. Raja Samuel Legal Expert
Mrs. Sudha Ganapathy Social Scientist
Mr. K. Karuthapandi Social Scientist